EU : Ten European countries will create a large network of wind power in northern European Union

Published on Business & Investments  |  January 19, 2011, 14:20

Ten European countries have signed on Friday in Brussels, a cooperation agreement to create a network of wind power in the North Sea, English Channel, Irish Sea and Celtic Sea.

Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg, France, Great Britain, Ireland, Norway and Belgium will cooperate from now, to link this network that covers an area of 760,000 square kilometers.

"This memorandum is an important step in developing renewable energies", said in a statement the Belgian Presidency of the European Union. He also recalled that the energy capacity of "The 27" held offshore is greater than the capacity of oil production in the Middle East.

Belgian Energy Minister, Paul Magnette, which catalyzed the project, considered as something "essential" the attract investment that would allow development of interconnections.

The European Wind Energy Association (EWEA) held that the agreement is "a necessary step for creating a grid on the high seas, very useful for developing a single European energy market".

The Belgian Presidency estimates this network location could create up to 150,000 jobs, between 2020 and 2030, and an installed capacity of 150 GW, in 2030.

In this way it will produce 563 TWh, equivalent to 16 percent of electricity consumption in Europe. In 2050, this figure could rise to 46 percent.

Digg this   Slashdot Slashdot   StumbleUpon   Yahoo MyWeb   Google Bookmarks   Twitter   Facebook

Rate this       Low   High
 Print       Email      IM